Malefice are a British heavy metal band from Reading, Berkshire, England, formed in 2003.

Band history:
They were formed by friends at college (The original members consisted of Dale Butler, Alex Vuskans, Craig Thomas and Craig Fenner) and started to write their songs straight away. Their first major break was to open a four band bill charity gig at the Rivermead Centre in Reading. From then on their fanbase began to grow. Through constant touring around Reading and London, they managed to get a distribution deal for their first EP 'Relentless' through Hangman's joke.
Then in early 2007 they signed to Anticulture Records. They then recorded their debut album 'Entities' under the production team of Dan Weller and Justin Hill of WellerHill at Craig's parents home in South Wales. The album has been highly praised by the British Metal Press. The band recently announced their amicable split from the Anticulture label via their Myspace page.
Since the album's release they have been support for the successful SikTh tour and the latest DevilDriver and God Forbid and have played shows with the likes of Soulfly.
In January 2008, they played a show at The Wedgewood Rooms in Portsmouth, which was recorded, and is due to be released as the band's first ever DVD.
In June 2008, Malefice opened the second stage of the prestigious Download Festival on the Saturday.
November 2008, Malefice announced through their Myspace page that they had signed a worldwide deal with Metal Blade Records. In February 2009 they released their second album Dawn of Reprisal. On September 12, they played at Butserfest alongside Go:Audio and We Are the Ocean.
On September 26, 2009, they played in India at the annual cultural fest Rendezvous of IIT Delhi.
In March 2010 the band featured on the BBC TV show "The Bubble". Host David Mitchell (known for his disinterest in all forms of music) jokingly declared them his "favourite band". The following month it was announced that drummer Craig Thomas had left the band, to be replaced by Chris Allan-Whyte. Following this Malefice also played on the Jager stage at Sonisphere UK, playing a 30 minute set on Saturday evening. In 2012 they recorded a song with Everton goalkeeper Marcus Hahnemann for the J├Ągermeister UK "Ice Cold Session", titled Omega and released on February 1, 2012.
In June 2012, the signed to Transcend Music Transcend Records

Band members:

Current members:
Dale Butler - vocals (2003-present),
Ben Symons - guitar (2003-present),
Andrew Wilson - guitar (2011-present),
Tom Hynes - bass (2006-present),
Chris Allan-Whyte - drums (2010-present),

Former members:
Lloyd Griffiths - bass (2003-2006),
Craig Thomas - drums (2003-2010),
Alex Vuskans - guitar(2003-2011)